Barca : Koeman attacks the referee and defends Messi

In addition to Athletic Bilbao’s fine victory over FC Barcelona, the Spanish Super Cup final was also marked by Lionel Messi’s unlikely bloodbath. The Argentinian, frustrated by the match, had punched Villalibre in overtime, logically causing his exclusion.

Match Highlights

At the end of the match, Ronald Koeman was shown the red card for the six-time Ballon d’Or. The Dutch coach preferred to point the finger at the referee. “What do I think of refereeing? It’s better not to talk about referees so I don’t repeat myself, because I don’t like to do that. What happened during this foul? (…) I don’t know how many fouls they committed against him. He tries to dribble and can’t,” said the former Netherlands coach.

Your Daily Football News